Our Research

Extragalactic Astronomy and Cosmology People

Academic staff

Prof. Richard BattyeCosmology
Dr Michael BrownCosmology
Dr Clive DickinsonCMB foregrounds / Cosmology
Dr Neal JacksonExtragalactic Astronomy
Dr Scott KayCosmology
Dr J.P. LeahyExtragalactic Astronomy
Prof. Shude Mao Theoretical Astrophysics (On leave at NAOC)


Dr George BendoALMA
Dr Rob Beswicke-MERLIN
Prof. Ian BrowneEmeritus
Prof. R. D. DaviesEmeritus
Prof. Richard DavisCMB technology
Prof. Simon Garringtone-MERLIN
Dr Bruno MaffeiCMB technology
Dr Giampaolo PisanoCMB technology
Dr Tom Muxlowe-MERLIN
Prof. Alan PedlarEmeritus
Dr Althea WilkinsonExtragalactic Astronomy
Prof. P.N. WilkinsonCMB, Extragalactic Astronomy

Research Staff

Dr Anna BonaldiCMB, Planck
Dr Melanie GendreExtragalactic Astronomy
Dr Fabio NovielloCMB, Planck, LSPE
Dr Michael PeelCMB, Planck
Dr Bob WatsonCMB, Planck


Jennifer GuptaRadio-loud Active Galactic Nuclei (blazars); SENSE
Marieke HabericherSpinning Skyrmions (PhD)
Philippa HartleyModelling polarized radio source population for weak lensing studies (part-time MSc)
Stuart HarperQUIJOTE
Melis IrfanC-BASS
Mark McCullochQUIET instrumentation
Richard NewtonNumerical simulations of structure formation
Jonathan PearsonTheoretical cosmology - kinky vortons
Simon PikeNumerical simulations of structure formation
Edward ReevesF(R) gravity (part-time PhD)
Matias Vidal NavarroQUIET data analysis
Kate VollerHI intensity mapping (PhD)
Nick WrigleyDeep field radio observations (MSc)


Dr Dick LongModelling external galaxies and the Milky Way using the made-to-measure method
Dr Magda TodorovićVSA, C-BASS, CMB foregrounds and radio surveys

Previous Staff

Dr Vladislav StolyarovResearch associate at CPAC.
Dr Janine van EymerenGas kinematics in star-forming galaxies
Dr Alkistis PourtsidouCosmic strings
Dr Tess JaffePlanck, galactic foregrounds
Dr Stuart LowePlanck, OCRA, public outreach

Past Students

Zamri Zainal AbidinWorked on polarization simulations for Planck LFI as part of his PhD (2005).
Marta AlvesRadio Recombination Line surveys of the Galaxy
Francisco BlancoNon-Gaussianity for the VSA.
Sarah Bryan
Kieran ClearyCompleted his PhD thesis (2003) on radio source foregrounds for the VSA. Now at JPL.
Carlos Gutierrez de la Cruz
Alan DuffyLarge scale structure formation
Danielle FenechStill affiliated, employed by UCL
Yaser HafezStudied weather and calibration effects on the VSA for his PhD.
Roger Hoyland
Adam MossWorked on designing and constraining models of inflation and quintessence for his PhD.
Junghwan Oh
Steven PedianiDark energy and large scale structure.
Michael PreecePolarizations of the CMB
Dimitrios StamadianosCBI observations of the Galaxy
Richard TaylorNumerical simulations of structure formation
Chris TibbsCMB foregrounds and anomalous dust.
Dandan XuGravitational lensing and galaxy evolution
Helen YatesTested Planck radiometers for her MSc (2005)