Mobile menu icon
Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics

Sarah Smith working on the receiver


There are two options for postgraduate studies in the Department of Physics and Astronomy.


The Jodrell Bank Centre for Astrophysics is part of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

Each year the Department offers a wide range of studentships and bursaries, and details of these schemes are available on the Department website.

These are:

  • MSc by Research in Astronomy and Astrophysics (one-year (full-time) or two-year (part-time))
  • PhD in Astrophysics (three to three and a half year duration)

Our research programmes include observational and theoretical studies covering almost the whole of modern astrophysics: from the discovery of planets orbiting other stars, to the origin of the universe in the Big Bang. Our Centre is also a world leader in radio-astronomy-related technology development for ground and space-based instruments.

We use telescopes working across the electromagnetic spectrum, including those in Hawaii, Chile, the USA, the Canary Islands, and Australia, together with space telescopes such as Planck, Spitzer, Chandra, and Hubble.

A long heritage in astrophysical research includes playing a leading role in the discovery of quasars and gravitational lenses, and finding the first double pulsar; the most stringent tests of Einstein's general theory of relativity.

Applications procedure: see the Department of Physics and Astronomy page for How to Apply. If you have some idea of research areas or projects that you are interested in then we would strongly urge you to include your top three projects, in rank order, within the application.